Skip to content

Administrative Resources

Mission

Finance Office

Welcome to the Business Office! We provide core business services to faculty, students, and staff with a primary focus on personnel/payroll, contract and grant administration, and financial monitoring and analysis.

Our goal is to deliver knowledgeable, responsive, and solution-oriented service that supports the teaching, research, and public service of the School of Education & Information Studies.

To serve as a model by which other professional schools on campus measure achievement and success in meeting administrative responsibilities to faculty, students, and staff.

The Business Office:

  • Values the unique experience and knowledge our staff brings to accomplishing our mission and we actively encourage teamwork and professional development to promote a high level of versatility (cross-training), competence, and expertise.
  • Provides leadership and delivers training in the areas of human resources, financial management, and contract and grant administration to develop best practices, user-friendly tools and resources, and operational systems to enhance overall services.
  • Serves as the liaison between faculty, students, and staff and the central campus administration to coordinate the highest levels of service and customer satisfaction.
  • Strives to provide timely and solution-oriented services to maintain compliance with applicable policies, regulations, and laws and to communicate these compliance matters in understandable terms.
  • Researches and applies practical/innovative solutions to keep pace with a changing UCLA Ed&IS, constantly improve our efficiency, and add value to the administrative services provided to faculty, students, and staff.
People
  • Karla Breen, 
Assistant Dean for Financial Administration/CFO
    Office: Moore Hall 2052
 Phone: (310) 206-0202 
Email: breen@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Jeff Diaz,
 Senior Contracts & Grants Manager
    Office: Moore Hall 2051
 Phone: (310) 825-7474 
Email: jdiaz@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Riza Natividad-Awai, 
Senior Contracts & Grants Manager
    Office: Moore Hall 2051
 Phone: (310) 825-4426
 Email: awai@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Aris Santiago, 
DSA/Contracts & Grants Analyst
    Office: Moore Hall 2052 Phone: (310) 206-7424 
Email: santiago@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Rhonda Steele,
 Senior Contracts & Grants Manager
    Office: Moore Hall 2051
 Phone: (310) 206-7424
 Email: steele@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Shawnda Carpenter, Budget and Financial Analyst
    Office: Moore Hall 20512 Phone: (310) 825-5944 Email: carpenter@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Contact Us
    Office Hours 
Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm 
Closed 12:00-1:00pm Mailing Address 
UCLA School of Education & Information Studies
 Attn: Business Office 
2052/2051A Moore Hall
 Los Angeles, CA 90095-152104
  • Lora Choi,
 Senior Contracts & Grants Manager/DSA
    Office: Moore Hall 2051
 Phone: (310) 206-1454
 Email: schoi@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Christine Park,
 Senior Contracts & Grants Manager
    Office: Moore Hall 2051
 Phone: (310) 794-0161
 Email: cpark@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Francisco Santana,
 Financial Analyst
    Office: Moore Hall 2052 
Email: santana@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Desiree Smith,
 Financial Analyst
    Office: Moore Hall 2051 
Phone: (310) 825-8322 
Email: desmith@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Heidi Vitug,
 Professional Learning Programs Manager
    Office: Moore Hall 2052
 Phone: (310) 206-0418
 Email: vitug@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Stella Zhu, Administrative Financial Specialist
    Office: Moore Hall 2052
 Phone: (310) 825-8322 Email: szhu@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Marvin Selga, Contracts & Grants Manager
    Office: Moore Hall 2052
 Phone: (310) 825-2150 Email: selga@gseis.ucla.edu
  • Tracy Nguyen-Phan, Senior Administrative Analyst
    Office: Moore Hall 2051A
 Phone: (310) 825-4426 Email: tphan@gseis.ucla.edu

Contracts & Grants

Business Travel

Purchasing and Procurements

Services

UCLA